Our Wiring, God’s Advantage

23 Nov

Image

 

I was chatting with my mother, and talking about how people are wired in different ways through personality, traits and attributes. It is our unique DNA which God has hand-crafted himself that set us apart from the rest; makes us individuals. 

I’m a striver. A person who strives to catch my dream or vision. I want to prove the naysayers wrong. I want to prove that God exist and is the God of my life through the opportunities I catch and grow into. Despite my doubt, weakness and flaws, I strive to get the best out of myself and my opportunities because I believe that’s the only way I can succeed.

I’ve had people say that I should be careful when I strive. That in fact, I shouldn’t strive for things because I may push the boundaries too much or arrive at my destination too early. 

…I disagree with that notion. Sure, there are dangers in striving; but there are also dangers in standing idle, in waiting for the opportunities to come. 

This brings me to the purpose of this post. Personally, I believe God has wired us all in a unique way; and He uses it to his advantage when He lead us to the dream and purpose set out for us.

I believe that God knows I need to have my vision out of reach, so that I can strive for it, reach out for it. In the striving and reaching, I will be developed, moulded and have grown by the time I have arrived at the next stage of my vision. Some people need to have the opportunity handed to them, so that once they receive the opportunity, they have the realization they need to grow into the role and the responsibility. Some people have an appetite for perfection; in their failing to be perfect, they grow to trust in God more and follow His plan for he is the perfecter. Some people need to fail truly in life, hit rock bottom; to discover the fact that God has a different calling in their life and therefore pursue it because they have no where else to go.

These different scenarios paint the picture that each individuals are wired in different ways. God knows how to motivate each of us and God will initiate those tools in order to push us, grow us into the masterpieces that He has called us to be. 

Find out what motivates you, what burns your heart, what makes you feel the need to attain something greater than yourself; and through that, discover how God is using that to bring you closer to Him.

1 Timothy 4:10 – “For it is for this we labor and strive, because we have fixed our hope on the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of believers.”

4 Responses to “Our Wiring, God’s Advantage”

  1. Shelly November 23, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    God created us and knows us so intimately. He knows exactly what our strengths and weaknesses are. I believe He motivates us in the way He knows will help us become the person He created us to be. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

    • jamesmoody12 November 23, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Amen Shelly!

      There is no specific “one way” for success in God’s plan but different creative ways that we are to be aware of.

      You too!

  2. Sharon Brooks November 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Imagine an Olympic track meet where everyone is in their places, awaiting the race to start. The first runner holds a stick in his hand as he takes off around the track. Its not long before he closes in on the next runner whom he passes the stick off to, who in turn takes off with a renewed sense of determination. This continues until all runners have been passed the stick, and cross the finish line.
    The first stick represents a level of awareness/ consciousness, the next stick a different level than the one before, and so on and so on. This is another of life’s marvelous moments where we have an opportunity to stretch our limited way of thinking and go beyond, into the world of Perfection, where there are no winners or losers, just everyone having an important role to fulfill, which in turn benefits all.
    Yes, life is a classroom, where we learn, but what do we learn. We are provided opportunities each day to learn through experience, but we have to pay attention in order to do so. And through these experiences, there is also wisdom, wisdom that can be used every day of our life.

    • jamesmoody12 November 23, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      Interesting analogies. That is the beauty of life, no matter how young or old we are, we are constantly learning and that’s what keeps us fresh and ambitious.

Leave a Reply

