Comfort in focus

6 Mar

A few days ago, the rare opportunity occurred, where my two dogs (Maltese/Poodle) get professionally shaved, washed and tidied up. I know from experience that my dogs absolutely despise this experience. They do not like being cut, shaved, washed or anything else remotely close to it! The male dog, Curly will growl and become really aggressive in a bid to protect himself; whereas the female dog, Maggie will just shiver in fear to the point that she loses control of her bladder and everything else.

I was assisting the man who was bringing the ‘beauty treatment’ to my dogs. I was petrified in anticipation of how Curly will be during this situation. The muzzle was put on him and the shaving commenced. I looked to comfort him by patting him and letting him know I was there and that it was okay. Curly seemed to hang in there, only doing a few growls; but noticeably getting more and more flustered as time went on. Soon the man began to cut his nails and I know that Curly is an absolute mad man when it comes to his nails. He became very aggressive and one of the greatest things I’ve personally experienced happened…

Image

Curly (Taken 06/03/14)

I pulled his face close to mine; my eyes firmly locked onto his, his pulse slowed down, his growl had become minimal and he just gazed into my eyes. I found such serenity in this moment. Curly felt he was going through pain and torture even though he wasn’t but in the moment he focused into his owner’s eyes (me) he found extreme comfort and knew that everything was going to be okay. Each time he was about to turn away, I firmly moved his focus back to me.

It was one of those ‘you have to be there to experience it’ moments to truly witness the poetry of the situation.

It got me thinking of our relationship with God. Curly knows that I’m his family and that I’ll look after him. He knew that if I was there with him, allowing the ‘pain’ to happen, then in the end, it will be okay. He found instant comfort in my presence. In the same way, we need to know that we are part of God’s family. We need to know that when God is with us, especially in times of struggles and hardship, then in the end it will be okay. We are to find instant comfort in God’s presence.

Proverbs 3:5 – “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.”

To elaborate further, I was once walking the dogs a few months ago and there were a few situations impacting me. I had a small revelation (usually happens in one of three moments – when I walk the dogs, when I play video games or when I am driving!) and it was a simple message from God – ‘Trust Me’. Never have I found such power and security in those words before because I needed a reminder from God that everything will be okay. It was time for me to focus into God’s eyes and find comfort in His presence!

Leave a Reply

