Waiting on Expectation

18 Mar

Image

As Christians, we have the privilege to serve a God of abundance, of great love and mercy; a God who wants to bless us and bring forth greater things in our life. We have expectation of certain things from God because we know He has promised us and God never fails to deliver.

What are you expecting God to do in your life? What are you waiting for God to do?

Expectation stirs the spirit and builds anticipation. Expectation develops our hunger for God. As you figure out what you’re expecting God to do in your life…here’s another question

What are you doing as you wait on God?

How are you building yourself up in order to position yourself for the expectation you have of God?

So many times we believe and wait, that we don’t seek to grow while waiting. The stuff we do while we wait is as important as the stuff you do after you get called out by God; in fact, it is probably more important because it will lead you to being called out by God as it is the preparation you need to undergo to be ready.

2 Peter 1:5-7 – For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self- control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love.

It’s important because of the lessons learnt; you go and you prepare yourself further as God looks to build you up. You build a greater foundation for God to build upon.

I’m not necessarily saying do everything you possibly can but rather work dilligently in your field, earnestly spend time with God as you grow. King David was working the fields for his brothers because he was called up. Elisha plowed the fields with his oxen before Elijah chose him. Moses was a shepherd before God spoke to him. I believe that the experience derived from the jobs they conducted equipped them in a way God intended for it to do so.

2 Peter 3:14 – Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these, be diligent to be found by Him without spot or blemish, and at peace.

Personally, I’ve been in the waiting room for a while and will be. But it’s in this time that I have learnt it is crucial because it is the development phrase of my life. The building of my inner spirit and character. I don’t want to live out God’s calling prematurely otherwise I will be unprepared and undone. That won’t benefit myself or anyone else and I won’t achieve the full extent of what God has called me to do. In this time so far in the waiting room I’ve had God speak to me continuously; I’ve had Him place people around me to speak over my life.

As I share little things God has taught me, it may lack context but I hope it still makes sense.

One of the key things I’ve learnt from God was I needed discipline in my life. In my mind last year at Bible College Camp, all I had was ‘Passion; Spiritual Discipline’ and God placed that over my life to develop my discipline through my time with him, physically and through my words so that when my passion is diminished, I have the discipline to hold me together for the time being. I’ve had challenges thrown at me where I become discouraged and God teaches me in those situations. “Why did it not work out?”, “How can I better my impact and response to those situations?” Those questions God has been embedding in my head so that when I face situations like these during my ministry, I know why it’s happening and how I can respond to it. I’ve slowly developed the gift of prophecy, God is building up my visions, my words and showing me that I can trust him so that when I need to step out in the future, I know I can do so boldly because of what I’ve experienced.

They are just small aspects of what God has been doing in my life while in the waiting room, as I wait on God to deliver the expectations I have; but they are all so crucial for me to learn, understand and grow in. It’s crucial because they all have a part to make a big difference in my ministry for God and will define whether I achieve the full extent of my calling from God.

2 Peter 1:10 – Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to confirm your calling and election, for if you practice these qualities you will never fall.

What are you doing in the waiting room?

One Response to “Waiting on Expectation”

  1. Dianne Heaney March 18, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    Hi James, Long time no speak as life has been full of interesting situations, full of learning, much love and trust. This has been an amazing year though where I have learnt there will always be more and this continues forever showing me trust is all we need to move through everything that comes and we can come out the other side. All we need for this trust is to be still and know God lives within us!!
    It is so exciting to know and share in your life James thank you Hugs Dianne “Oma”

Leave a Reply

