Leaking the Spirit

23 Apr

Evangelism

I was studying a passage within 2 Corinthians and God started quickly sharing me some thoughts about Evangelism. It seems to have taken on a very religious connotation; probably due to the stereotypical idea of men cloaked in brown sacks, with a horribly majestic beard, shouting “REPENT AND YOU’LL BE SAVED” on the street corner in the city.

Another connotation that came into my mind, was the pulpit. That evangelism is the pulpit’s responsibility. We simply try bring people to church; the pulpit (Pastor/Priest) and God does the rest.

Evangelism, evangelism, evangelism….

The verse that sparked this thought was 2 Corinthians 4:13

It is written: ‘I believed; therefore I have spoken.’ Since we have that same spirit of faith, we also believe and therefore speak,”

These are words from Paul the Apostle to the Corinthians. It seems so simple. We believe therefore we speak. If this is the true case…how come not all of us are speaking when we claim to be Christians? I know I could do a bit more evangelism in my everyday life personally. Did we do something wrong somewhere down the track?

One thing I heard can sum up the best way we can help ourselves to evangelize more and better. It was “When you saturate yourself in Jesus presence and the Holy Spirit, you begin to ‘leak’ his Spirit”.

Colossians 4:2-6 (ESV) – Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving…Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.

The concept is that when we are absorbed in His Word, spending time in prayer and encountering God, we become so filled with the Spirit that we have no choice but to empty it somehow and that is through speaking and sharing what we’ve learnt because we are busting at the seams with God and what we know! I love it when people’s eyes light up when they share something they’ve discovered about God, or witnessed in their everyday life. It holds raw beauty and love for God. I see it all the time with people I know, especially at Bible College, since we are all actively learning about God. Our Christian life should be personal but not private. We know this secret that cannot be a secret; it needs to be told! It needs to be revealed to others! It needs to be spread! Evangelism should be the norm, not criteria set for the pulpit only.

Romans 10:17 (ESV) – So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

We believe, therefore we speak. Simple equation. Is it that we are currently not reaching the point where we are leaking? Is it do to this that we are not embodying the Spirit of God in our life and that we are not correctly handling the word of truth?

The question needs to be asked – “Are we not saturating ourselves enough with Jesus’ presence?”

Personally I know I can do a lot more…a lot more. God has been urging my mind and spirit into spending more time with Him, in His Word and praying. I know I need to do a lot more. For me, stuff has happened, discipline has waned too far and too long but these excuses need to go out the window. I know once I get stuck into it, God will use me in many ways for evangelism. My life will speak the words of the gospel and people will come to know God through what I’m naturally doing for God, leaking his Spirit around me. That’s where we need to aim to be.

For us to reach the ‘leaking’ point, encouragement is needed; accountability is needed. As we create a culture of people learning more about God and spending more time with Him, evangelism will run riot and revival will explode. It sounds like an extravagant statement, but it’s a huge possibility…Let’s put it into action.

We believe, therefore we speak.

Leave a Reply

