Kingdom Culture

9 Sep

working

Kingdom Culture has been prominent in my thinking this last year. As I’ve been looking into transformation, devotion, following Jesus; Kingdom Culture is a theme that keeps popping up in relation to all that was mentioned. Bringing a Kingdom Culture to everything we do and say is key to bringing the love of Jesus to our world. It differentiates from Sunday Christians to Daily Christians who journey with God daily. Kingdom Culture brings forth the fruits of the Spirit and the fruits of our labor for it directs people to God as our Savior.

After searching for a good job the past three years, I was given the opportunity to start work with Village Cinemas in March this year. As a 21 year old, I wanted many shifts, more money and such, However, I knew I had to work for it. Before my very first shift; God said to me “Bring the Kingdom Culture with you every moment you work, don’t worry about shifts or a lack of it. Don’t worry about finance or anything, just bring the kingdom culture with you.”

What did God mean by Kingdom Culture?

Being obedient, punctual, enthusiastic, reliable, responsible and respectful. Honoring your managers; for when you honor them, you honor and glorify God. Above all, carrying the love of God and the faith you hold as you work, so every person who walks in or you work with feels loved, valued and appreciated.

Colossians 3:23 (NLT) – Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.

It’s been a great test to put God to as I took this mandate on board in my working life (among other areas) and God has truly blessed me. I was only getting one shift a week which consisted of five hours. I wanted more money as it was just keeping me afloat. I remember I hit $12 in my bank account; but yet I kept bringing the Kingdom Culture in work and one shift became two shifts. Five hour shifts became 7-8 hour shifts, night shifts became day shifts. Slowly but surely God was blessing me by answering my prayers. Now I’ve been trained up for Gold Class which increases my repertoire as an employee for Village Cinemas. It has been a blessed journey and Kingdom Culture is etched in my mind after this experience. It is so easy to believe our jobs don’t matter compared to pastoring, missions or chaplaincy etc, but it’s crucial that we carry the mandate of bringing the love of Jesus into our everyday world.

Colossians 3:17 (ESV) – And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I’ve been reading a book that pushes this attitude too, it’s called “One.Life” by Scot McKnight, here is a passage from his ‘Vocation.Life’ Chapter:

“Your vocation, which in so many ways is unique to you, can genuinely matter if you keep your eyes on the Kingdom of God as your guiding North Star. Teaching matters when you treat your students as humans whom you love and whom you are helping. Coaching soccer matters when you connect kids to the kingdom. Growing vegetables becomes kingdom work when we enjoy God’s green world as a gift from Him. Collecting taxes becomes kingdom work when you treat each person as someone who is made in the image of God and as a citizen instead of a suspect. Jobs become vocations and begin to matter when we connect what we do to God’s vision for this world. Sure, there’s scut work involved…we have to believe that the mundane matters to God” (McKnight, p147).

Sometimes we focus too much on asking God for the blessing/s and neglect the actions that bring forth blessings – work ethic, unity/fellowship, faith and so on. We need to create a space for God to bless us. Every moment you work or live, carry the Kingdom Culture with you!

Leave a Reply

