Open Your Mouth and Pray

16 Dec

praying for others

There is the interesting tendency for people to say “I will pray for you” or “praying for those…” whether it’s through social media or saying it face to face. There is also the tendency to simply leave it that, and not actually pray. I admit that I used to fall in this trap. The Sydney Siege unlocked many Facebook Statuses and Tweets about prayers/thoughts going to them, which I’m all for; I really hope that the same number of prayers were actually being prayed and declared.

There is absolutely no point in saying this words, unless we open our mouth and pray, because praying is where the power is. Without speaking out, these ‘statuses’ are rendered useless, it only becomes a thought that counts. Prayer is the supply line to the battle. When we say we will pray or are praying but don’t actually pray a prayer, we fall back on our word. We let down the people around us and ourselves; we limit the work of God in us and through us.

I used to say this a lot, in fact, way too much and never prayed. God called me out in this area. I like to call myself a man of my word and I knew I was letting myself down in this department. I knew I needed to build up my prayer life and pray. Through this reality check, I began to actively assess whether I was praying or not; how much was I praying and see if I was praying when I said I would pray over a certain situation.

Some people were hunting jobs, were needing guidance, some issues needed to be resolved. All these things presented an opportunity to pray and I looked to train myself to open my mouth and pray; even if it was only a short 10-second prayer. As I developed the habit of simply opening my mouth and saying a prayer over a situation where the opportunity presented itself, I began to do it more and more. The best part is….I began to see results! I know it shouldn’t be surprising because our God is amazing but there is nothing that encourages one’s prayer life than an answered prayer. I prayed over a man to find a job he craved and now he is working as an Assistant Manager of a restaurant! I prayed for some people throughout the exams and they passed with flying colors, I prayed over aspects in my life (including prayer life) and I have seen incredible results. I prayed for the protection of the Tacloban community in the duration of ‘super’ typhoon Ruby (as did many others) and we could definitely see God’s hand over them as it was nothing compared to the super typhoon in the previous year. I still have a long way to go in where I want to be in my prayer life but it’s a great start.

It is a simple equation – opening your mouth and speaking words in prayer unlocks the power; saying you will pray and not doing so doesn’t even touch the top of the iceberg.

Mark 11:22-24“Have faith in God,” Jesus answered. “Truly I tell you, if anyone SAYS to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they SAY will happen, it will be done for them. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ASK for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

There are keywords in the above passage – say, ask – they are acts of opening our mouths and speaking out. They are not thoughts of praying about it but actively speaking out and directly into what’s needed to be prayed for.

This is bring a reality check for us, and really assess how our prayer life is and whether we actually pray. I encourage you, if you do believe you fall in this trap yourself of not praying, to train yourself, to build your prayer life, to take a small moment every now and then and think about what you need to speak over and actually open your mouth and pray. I guarantee that you will see results because God will never let a hungry heart, praying a sincere prayer go unheard.

One tip I learnt was instead of saying “I’ll be praying for you”, why not say a prayer there and then?! Actually praying over them in that moment has so much more impact than you realize: It displays your conviction in Christ, your belief in the power of prayer, it trains you to build your prayer life, and it leaves the other person far more encouraged because they KNOW you have prayed for them. Today someone said that she was going to pray for me which was cool, then she unleashed this incredible prayer over my life that was astounding and left my spirit stirred; it hit me like a wave of water and it was a simple prayer that was spoken. There was a huge difference between the two expressions of saying you will pray, and actually praying. It takes boldness to pray but there is nothing more satisfying than the moment you step in faith and pray

How is your prayer life and are you speaking out? Let’s all band together and unlock the power of prayer by simply opening our mouths and speaking out and witness what God does!

There is nothing more powerful than people banding together and praying

Leave a Reply

