No Holds Barred

7 Dec

humble man

On my journey in God helping me develop intimacy with Him, I have found myself being brutally honest with God. I have found myself sharing personal thoughts, raw emotion and issues that have been impacting me; as I would to a close trusted friend over a daily cup of coffee.

It’s been amazing because now I am naturally handing over everything to God, laying all I have at his feet and truly submitting to His ways. I am not presenting myself as a perfect, holy, transformed Christian for God to use but rather a broken obedient man for God to equip and influence.

James 4:7 and 4:10 – “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you…Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up”

I find it so many people seem to shy away from truly talking to God about such things in their own lives. Is it because they are afraid? Is it because they lack intimacy? Is it because they want to present a good front to God in order to be worthy of His good graces? Well, great news! We are not saved by our own actions or works but his sufficient grace!

Ephesians 2:8-9 – “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast”

It is a funny response we take when we hide our issue from God because he already knows it! Look at Adam and Eve, they hid their face from God when they disobeyed His order, God sought them out. Cain hid Abel after the murder and denied knowing where He was when God asked Cain where Abel was. In both situations God knew, he just wanted them to be honest with God. In the same way God wants us to be real with Him because it enables us to be intimate with God and allow God to truly mould us.

Psalm 139:1-5 – O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.

There are three powerful outcomes that I found happening when I began to lay everything down to God and reveal everything in my heart to him, no holds barred.

  1. It establishes a natural relationship with God

You do not have a strong relationship with a person if you simply only go through the niceties. Intimacy enlarges in a relationship where you become open, transparent and real with one another and are in a safe place to do so. It becomes as natural to cry out for help to receive counsel, support and love as it is to enjoy each others presence, laugh and strengthen the relationship. The exact same dynamics follows in our relationship with God.

2. It acts as a release valve

We all have to release what is on our mind or heart; whether it’s to a friend, a family member, a dog or to the wrong person. When we release what is on our hearts and mind, we create space for something to be spoken into the issue. There is power in confession. So who is a better person to speak to than God! For he won’t condemn us but rather rejoice in our trust and intimacy with him

1 Peter 5:7 – Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

3. It allows God to speak into the situation

This is best result we can have when it comes to unloading our burden onto God. God brings us love, counsel and direction. God brings healing and grace to our hurting wounds. God takes us from where we are to where we need to be.

God cannot heal or speak into what he hide away from Him. In submission to Him there is freedom. In his perfect love, there in no fear. So my encouragement to you today is don’t hold anything back when it comes to sharing with the Lord, build the intimacy with Him and allow God to truly bring love and healing in your life, to build and equip you for what’s ahead. No holds barred.

Leave a Reply

